School Squash

Mustangs Win 32nd Straight Title

The streak continued for the Western Mustangs men’s squash team, as they claimed their 32nd consecutive OUA Men’s Squash Championship on January 30, 2015 at the Northfield Racquet Club.

This year’s win continues the unprecedented streak that began in 1983, and it is the 42nd men’s title in university history. Western took first place with 34 points, with the host Waterloo Warriors claiming silver with 25 points, while McMaster took third with 21 points (and winning a tiebreaker with Toronto).

On the women’s side of the bracket, the Mustangs earned the bronze medal, finishing the three-day event with 20 points, four behind the second-place Varsity Blues, and seven behind the gold medal-winning Queen’s Gaels.

The Mustangs claimed gold in four of six men’s flights, with Krishan Rana, Matt Sharpe, Nick Guest, and Cory Shannon winning flights six through three respectively. Western claimed silver in the top two flights, as Kale Wilson fell to Waterloo’s Blake Reinson in flight two, while the Warriors Cameron Seth defeated James Van Staveren to defend his individual title.

Western won medals in all six women’s flights, bringing home five bronze and one silver. Nicola Crich earned silver in flight six, falling to her Queen’s opponent Nora Abdelrahman Ibrahim, while Lauren Mahfood, Deanna Hamilton, Anna Lailey, Brooke Burrowes, and Holly Delavigne won bronze in flights five through one respectively. Queen’s athlete Heather White walked away with the individual title, defeating Toronto’s Evelyn Moorhouse in the flight one finals.

Additionally, Graduate student Delavigne and fourth year student Van Staveren represented the purple and white as they were named to the Ontario University Athletics list of all-stars.

– Story and photo submitted by Western Mustangs Athletics