Make it 35 in a row!

The Mustangs had another successful trip to the OUA Squash Championship, with the women’s team capturing bronze, while the men’s team won their 35th consecutive title.


The streak continued for the Western Mustangs, as the men’s squash team captured their 35th consecutive OUA Championship in February at the Queen’s Athletics and Recreation Centre.

Western ran the table on the men’s side, winning all five of their games while going an impressive 45-0 in their matches to extend a championship streak that, remarkably, began during the 1983-84 season. The Waterloo Warriors finished at 5-1 to claim silver, just ahead of the Queen’s Gaels, the bronze medalist hosts who defeated Toronto to seal a medal position.

Meanwhile, the Mustangs took bronze on the women’s side, claiming third place with 21 match wins, while the Toronto Varsity Blues earned silver with 37 victories, and the Gaels took the top spot with 41 wins. The Gaels won all five of their games while earning a 41-4 record in matches, which was four better than second-place Toronto.

Leading Western to their 45th overall men’s banner were Matt Henderson and David Mill, who were named OUA All-Stars for their efforts. Mill also took home the OUA MVP award, finishing 6-0 with an 18-5 record. The top rookie for men’s squash went to Alex Collins, a member of the host Gaels who helped his team reach the podium for OUA bronze.

Individually on the women’s side, Heather McLachlin finished undefeated for the Brock Badgers at 5-0, earning her not only the OUA women’s rookie of the year but the MVP title as well. The impressive first-year went 15-4 in her games from the number one position. Western’s Amy Commisso was recognized for her efforts at the championship, earning a spot on the OUA All-Star team.

The coaches of the year went to Vinit Kudva of Waterloo on the men’s side, his fifth straight coach of the year recognition, while Josh Ginou was named the top women’s coach leading the Varsity Blues to an OUA silver.


2017-2018 OUA Squash Results

Men’s Standings (record)
1) Western (54-0)
2) Waterloo (39-15)
3) Queen’s (33-21)
4) Toronto (23-31)
5) Brock (20-34)
6) Guelph (16-38)
7) McMaster (4-50)

Women’s Standings (record)
1) Queen’s (41-4)
2) Toronto (37-8)
3) Western (21-24)
4) Brock (18-26)
5) McMaster (11-33)
6) Waterloo (6-39)

Men’s MVP
David Mill (Western)

Women’s MVP
Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men’s Rookie of the Year
Alex Collins (Queen’s)

Women’s Rookie of the Year
Heather McLachlan (Brock)

Men’s Coach of the Year
Vinit Kudva (Waterloo)

Women’s Coach of the Year
Josh Ginou (Toronto)

Men’s All-Stars
David Mill (Western)
Matt Henderson (Western)
Thomas Manley (Waterloo)
Mohamed Hamour (Brock)
Ravi Seth (Waterloo)
Cameron Butler (Queen’s)

Women’s All-Stars
Heather McLachlan (Brock)
Olivia Waite (McMaster)
Charlotte Copas (Waterloo)
Evelyn Moorhouse (Toronto)
Nora Abdelrahman Ibrahim (Queen’s)
Amy Commisso (Western)

Submitted by Western Mustangs and photos by Ian MacAlpine