Coaches recognized for hard work

Steve Lewis earned Peewee coach of the year honours after guiding the Red Storm Tykes to the playoffs this season.

As the 60th year of London Minor Football winded down, our annual appreciation night featured our coaches of the year awards. Five coaches in all were recognized for their outstanding work this past season.

The London Football Official’s Association awarded the Cobras Atom team and coach Paul Politis with the Most Sportsmanlike Team award. This award demonstrates and confirms the LMFA’s commitment to teaching great sportsmanship and life lessons that players will use forever.

The Tyke coach of the year is Steve Lewis. Steve coached the Red Strom Tykes after being an assistant last year.

He showed enthusiasm and taught teamwork while leading his team to the playoffs.

Andrew Walker of the Hawks is the Atom coach of the year. He also coached the LMFA Atom all-stars in Windsor this year, and he has now coached in the LMFA for over 10 years.

Steven Sauve is the Peewee coach of the year for his work with the Wolverines. When their coaches walked away at the last minute, Steven stepped in and saved the team. The Wolverine Peewees competed hard and improved and learned all year. Steven also helped coach the Peewee all stars.

The 2019 LMFA Coach of the Year is Corey Seybold of the Bulldogs. Corey has coached for many years in LMFA, and he took over the Peewee Bulldogs this year. The team completed community service projects and competed hard on the field all season, making the playoffs with a young roster. Corey showed leadership and taught the players to work together – both on and off the field.

Looking ahead, the very popular 2019 LMFA indoor skills camps are under way until March at Centrefield Sports.

For more information on the 2019 LMFA fall season, or the indoor camps, please visit or call 519-852-4465.

Submitted by London Minor Football Association